Late Prof. George Magoha to be buried on Feb. 11

for Tv47 Digital January 28, 2023, 08:41 PM
Late Prof. George Magoha. He died on Tuesday evening at Nairobi Hospital.
Late Prof. George Magoha. He died on Tuesday evening at Nairobi Hospital. PHOTO/FILE

In Summary

  • Former Defence CS Eugene Wamalwa confirmed the date during the burial of Prof. Magoha's brother Richard Nyabera.
  • Prof. George Magoha died on Tuesday evening at Nairobi Hospital. 

Late former Education Cabinet Secretary Prof. George Magoha will be buried on February 11, 2023.

Speaking during the burial of the late Prof. Magoha's brother Richard Nyabera on Saturday Jan. 28, Prof. Magoha's former Cabinet colleague Eugene Wamalwa also confirmed that the burial committee constituted by former President Uhuru Kenyatta has already hit the ground running.

“Former President Uhuru Kenyatta and his team will stand with you. After today we will come back because we know that on the 11th of February, you will be burying your brother Prof. George Magoha," Wamalwa, who served in the Defence docket said. 

Prof. Magoha, the immediate former CS for Education died on Tuesday evening at the Nairobi Hospital. Today, relatives and friends bid farewell to another of his brothers- Prof. Nyabera- who died in Texas, U.S, on December 6, 2022. 

During the funeral Wamalwa revealed that Uhuru had made a personal donation of KSh2 million to assist the Magoha family while his former Cabinet colleagues had raised KSh1 million. 

“I was only sent here to represent them today but on the 11th of February we will all be here to ensure that we give our good professor a dignified send-off,” he added. 

The government has also pledged to support the family. 

On Saturday, Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua condoled with Prof Magoha’s family at their home in Lavington, Nairobi.

“He was a great man, a distinguished public servant who demonstrated utmost dedication, patriotism and commitment in all the positions he served in,” Gachagua said of Prof. Magoha. 

He was accompanied CSs Simon Chelugui (Cooperatives), Eliud Owalo (Communication), Rebecca Miano (EAC), Florence Bore (Labour), Peninah Malonza (Tourism) and Zacharia Njeru (Lands). 

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Comment below

Latest Stories

Recommended Stories