“You are sidelining us!” – Section of Gem accuse Governor Orengo of sidelining constituency in county appointments


A section of residents in Gem Constituency are now accusing Governor James Orengo of sidelining them in appointment of senior county officials.

Led by South Gem Ward MCA Brian Anyango, the residents say that the latest list of county executive committee members does not represent the face of the county.

Speaking to journalists during a funeral in his ward, the MCA – popularly known as Otuom – called upon the county assembly not to approve the list.

“As Gem residents, we are not featuring anywhere, thus begging the question if regional balance was considered,” said the MCA.

Her further accuses Governor Orengo of rewarding political rejects with county positions at the expense of service delivery to the people.

“The way forward is to reject the list. He has to consider the youth and regional balance in his government,” he said adding that Gem people must be considered in the appointments.

The Siaya County Assembly. A section of Gem Constituency residents are urging the Siaya County Assembly to reject Governor James Orengo’s latest nominees in senior positions.

Absolutely ridiculous

On the same breath, Benjamin Agunda – a youth leader in Gem – described the nomination of former Siaya County Public Service Board member to head the gender and youth docket as ridiculous.

“We all voted for Orengo and as Gem people, we are demanding that he ensures regional balance while making appointments” said Agunda.

This week, Governor Orengo forwarded a list of eight people to the county assembly for consideration and approval for various positions.

Among the nominees are a former principal secretary, Prof. Jacqueline Adhiambo Oduol for the position of CECM, water, sanitation, environment, climate change and natural resources.

Former member of the Siaya county public services board, Dr. Nicholas Kut Ochogo has been nominated for the chief officer position in the department of youth, gender and social services.

‘No Gem’

Others are Jactone Ouma Odinga (chief officer, budget and planning), Ajuol Okoth Kevin (Energy and transport), Samwel Omondi Owino (Chief officer, health), Judith Oyugi (chief officer, Water and sanitation), Elizabeth Atieno Adongo (Chief officer, Agriculture, food security, livestock and fisheries) and Michael Ombambo Oliech (chief officer, Enterprise and Industrial development).

Prof. Oduol and Dr. Ochogo vied for Alego/Usonga parliamentary seat during the last general election but were knocked out at the ODM party nominations stage.

Three of the nominees are from Alego/Usonga Constituency, Two each from Ugenya and Rarieda constituencies and one from Kisumu County.

Related Posts

See all >>

Latest Posts

See all >>