MP Jalang’o: I will only leave ODM when Raila says so

MP Jalang’o: I will only leave ODM when Raila says so

Lang’ata Member of Parliament (MP) Phelix ‘Jalang’o’ Odiwuor has affirmed that he is still a member of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) despite his expulsion.

MP Jalang’o spoke on Radio 47’s breakfast show hosted by Alex Mwakideu and Emmanuel Mwashumbe.

“Nani amekwambia nimefukuzwa kwa chama? Chama ni ya Raila Odinga. Na kama sijapata habari kutoka kwa Raila Amolo Odinga mimi bado ni mtu wa ODM,” he began.

Jalang’o maintains he is still an ODM MP

The first time MP went on to say that he will continue leading the people of Lang’ata until the 2027 general elections. This comes hours after his cryptic response to ODM.

“You can take that to the bank because that is the truth. Nothing will change!” Jalang’o added.

Jalang’o hints at appealing ODM’s decision

He was asked to elaborate on what an expulsion by the party meant for him and four other lawmakers including; Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Gideon Ochanda (Bondo), Caroli Omondi (Suba South), and Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda.

“The party will write to the National Assembly Speaker who will declare your seat vacant and people go for a by-election,” Jalang’o explained.

However, this procedure would only be followed if the expelled legislator failed to appeal the party’s decision.

ODM Party leadership announced the news in a statement on Wednesday, sparking a heated debate from Kenya Kwanza leaders.

Five ODM MPs expelled

Meanwhile, Rongo MP Paul Abuor and his Uriri counterpart Mark Nyamita were reprimanded and fined Ksh1 million each.

Abuor and Nyamita appeared in person before the party’s Disciplinary Committee and explained the reasons for their actions, being part of the MPs who visited Ruto at State House.

They are supposed to pay the fine within sixty (60) days.

“Nominated MCAs in the Kisumu County Assembly Caroline Opar, Kennedy Ajwang’, Peter Obaso, and Regina Kizito will have their nominations revoked,” ODM says.

The Raila Odinga-led party has also announced that grassroots elections will be held early next year on dates to be determined by NEC.

Related Posts

See all >>

Latest Posts

See all >>