Red-hot Haaland wins PFA Player of the Year award

Red-hot Haaland wins PFA Player of the Year award

Red-hot striker Erling Haaland on Tuesday, August 29 bagged the PFA PLayers’ Player of the Year award after his stellar first season with Manchester City.

Haaland enjoyed an incredible debut season with City, hitting 52 goals in all competitions as Pepe Guardiola’s men won the treble – Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League.

The 23-year-old Norwegian trounced fellow team-mates John Stones and Kevin De Bruyne, Arsenal pair Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard, as well as former Tottenham striker Harry Kane, to scoop the award.

“It’s an honour to win this prestigious award. To be recognised by your competitors is a great feeling and I would like to thank everyone who voted for me,” Haaland said.

“It was an unforgettable season for the team and for me personally. Winning the treble was something I never imagined, so to achieve that with such a special group of players was an amazing feeling.

Haaland added: “We created some incredible memories last season, but now we want to do the same again this year. We have started the season well and we need to keep going.”

England and Aston Villa star Rachel Daly won the women’s prize, voted for by fellow players.

Saka recognised

Saka was voted the men’s Young Player of the Year after catapulting Mikel Arteta’s men to a title race that unfortunately ended in a whimper.

Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Lauren James picked up the women’s Young Player of the Year award.

Daly and James played key roles in propelling England to the FIFA Women’s World Cup final, although they lost to Spain earlier this month.

Dally, 31, also scored 22 goials in the Women’s Super League last season.

Organised by the Professional Footballers’ Association, the awards salute the best male and female players in English football in 2023.

Related Posts

See all >>

Latest Posts

See all >>